PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Patient Benefits

By: CVH Team

Disability benefits

Canada Pension Plan
The Canada Pension Plan (CPP) is best known as a retirement pension, but it also provides disability benefits to CPP contributors and their families.  If you have children and are receiving a disability benefit, your children may be eligible for the CPP children’s benefit. In order to be eligible for this benefit, you must:

  • be under 65;
  • have earned a specified minimum amount and contributed to the CPP while working for a minimum number of years;
  • have a severe and prolonged disability as defined by the CPP legislation.

Québec Pension Plan
The disability benefit of the Québec Pension Plan is similar to the one offered by CPP, although there are slight differences in eligibility requirements. Québec is the only province that administers its own pension plan.

Provincial palliative care benefit programs

Some provinces have special programs to cover the cost of medications and basic medical supplies for terminally ill people registered with palliative care programs. The criteria for eligibility vary from province to province. Most of the programs require a physician or primary care provider to fill in part of the application form.

BC Palliative Care Benefits Program
Alberta Palliative Care Drug Coverage
Saskatchewan Palliative Care Drug Plan Program
Manitoba Palliative Care Drug Access Program
New Brunswick Extra-Mural Program (home health care services and palliative services)
Prince Edward Island Palliative Care  

Other provincial benefit programs

If your province or territory does not have a palliative care benefits program, you may qualify for benefits under a general program, such as a prescription drug program or health benefits program.

Nova Scotia
New Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador
Prince Edward Island
Northwest Territories

Provincial or territorial social assistance

People who are not eligible to receive a disability benefit from the CPP or QPP may turn to social assistance, often referred to as welfare. Provinces and territories generally require that the applicant’s disability be long term and severe enough to prevent the person from working. In addition, the applicant must also complete a needs test to determine the person’s total income and whether they qualify for the benefit.

Employment Insurance sickness benefits

Employment Insurance sickness benefits offer income protection from temporary work absences. If the work absence is going to be over a long period of time, employment insurance will not provide benefits.

Employer insurance plans

Some employers provide group insurance packages to their employees as a work-related benefit. These packages may cover costs for prescription drugs, medical expenses and dental expenses. Group insurance may also provide survivors with an income in the event of the employee’s disability or death.

It is a good idea to check with your employer or the insurance company providing the group insurance to understand the details of your particular coverage, and how long the insurance will continue in the event that illness forces you to stop working. People who work for companies that do not offer group insurance plans or who are self-employed can buy disability coverage through a private insurer, above and beyond the CPP disability benefit.

Living benefits

Life insurance will often provide for what is known as a living benefit. Such a benefit allows for people who have been diagnosed with a terminal illness to have a portion of their anticipated benefit paid to them in the years before their death. Taking such benefits will reduce the amount of the insurance benefit ultimately paid to the beneficiary of the insurance. A financial advisor can help you make these kinds of decisions.

Tax credits

People who have costs related to health-related goods and services, or additional living costs due disability, may be eligible for tax credits. To find out more about tax credits that may be available to you, consult with a financial advisor.

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Prestations pour patients

Par :  CVH Team


Prestations d’invalidité

Le régime de pensions du Canada
Le régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) est bien connu comme pension de retraite, mais prévoit aussi des prestations d`invalidité aux contribuables au RPC et à leurs familles.  Si vous avez des enfants et que vous recevez une prestation d’invalidité, vos enfants pourraient avoir droit à la prestation pour enfants au titre du RPC. Pour être admissible au RPC, vous devez :

  • être âgé de moins de 65 ans;
  • avoir gagné un revenu minimum précis, en plus d’avoir cotisé au RPC pendant un nombre minimum d’années de travail;
  • avoir subi une invalidité sévère et prolongée au sens de la Loi sur le RPC.

Le régime des rentes du Québec
La prestation d’invalidité prévue par le Régime des rentes du Québec (RRQ) est semblable à celui offert par le RPC, malgré les écarts minimes qui existent au niveau des conditions d`admissibilité. Le Québec est la seule province à administrer son propre régime de pensions.
 

Programmes de prestations de soins palliatifs offerts par les provinces

Certaines provinces ont des programmes spéciaux qui couvrent le coût des médicaments et des fournitures médicales de base pour les personnes atteintes d’une maladie en phase terminale qui sont inscrites à un programme de soins palliatifs. Les critères d’admissibilité varient d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre. La plupart des programmes exigent qu’une partie du formulaire de demande soit remplie par un fournisseur de soins primaires ou par un médecin.

BC Palliative Care Benefits Program
Alberta Palliative Care Drug Coverage
Saskatchewan Palliative Care Drug Plan Program
Le Programme d’accès gratuit aux médicaments pour soins palliatifs de Santé Manitoba
Le Programme extra-mural du Nouveau-Brunswick (services de soins de santé à domicile et soins palliatifs)
Prince Edward Island Palliative Home Care Drug Program
 

Autres programmes provinciaux de prestations

Si votre province ou territoire n’offre pas de programme de prestations de soins palliatifs, il se peut que vous soyez admissible à des prestations en vertu d’un programme général, tel qu’un programme d’assurance-médicaments ou un programme de prestations de maladie.

Ontario
Québec
Nouvelle-Écosse
Nouveau-Brunswick
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Île du Prince-Édouard
Yukon
Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Nunavut
 

Programmes provinciaux ou territoriaux d’aide sociale

Les personnes qui ne répondent pas aux critères nécessaires pour recevoir des prestations d`invalidité au titre du RPC ou du RRQ peuvent recourir à l’aide sociale, couramment appelée « bien-être social ». En général, les provinces et territoires exigent que l’invalidité du demandeur soit de longue durée et assez grave pour empêcher ce dernier à travailler. De plus, le demandeur doit se soumettre à une évaluation des besoins pour que l'on puisse déterminer son revenu total et s’il est admissible à la prestation.
 

Prestations de maladie prévues par le régime d'assurance-emploi

Les prestations de maladie prévues par le régime d’assurance-emploi permettent au demandeur de bénéficier d’une protection du revenu en cas d’absence temporaire du travail. Si l’absence s'échelonne sur une longue période, le régime d’assurance-emploi n’offrira aucune prestation.
 

Régimes d’assurance offerts par l'employeur

Certains employeurs offrent des régimes d’assurances collectives aux employés dans le cadre d’un régime d’avantages sociaux. Ces régimes peuvent couvrir le coût des médicaments sur ordonnance, des soins médicaux et des soins dentaires. Les assurances collectives peuvent verser aux survivants un revenu en cas d’invalidité ou de décès de l’employé.

Il vaut la peine de consulter votre employeur ou la compagnie d’assurance offrant les assurances collectives afin de connaître les détails de votre protection et la période au cours de laquelle vous bénéficierez d’une protection au cas où une maladie vous forcerait à cesser de travailler. Les personnes qui travaillent pour une entreprise qui n’offre pas de régime d’assurance ou qui travaillent à leur compte peuvent acheter, à une compagnie d’assurance privée, une assurance-invalidité qui prévoit des prestations supérieures à celles offertes par le RPC.
 

Programme de règlement anticipé

L’assurance-vie prévoit souvent ce que l’on appelle un programme de règlement anticipé. En effet, cette garantie permet aux assurés chez qui l'on a diagnostiqué une maladie terminale de toucher une portion des prestations anticipées au cours des années précédant leur mort. Le paiement de telles prestations aura pour effet de réduire le montant de la prestation versée en fin de compte au bénéficiaire du contrat d’assurance. Un conseiller financier peut vous aider à prendre de telles décisions.
 

Crédits d’impôts

Les personnes qui engagent des frais liés aux biens et services d’ordre médical ou encore des frais de subsistance supplémentaires pour des raisons d’invalidité peuvent avoir droit à des crédits impôts. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les crédits impôts dont vous pourriez vous prévaloir, consultez un conseiller financier.

Contenu revu en août 2011