PDF Print Article Send to a FriendSend to a Friend
Planning a Home Funeral

By: Glen R. Horst MDiv, DMin, BA

For cultural, traditional or personal reasons, you may wish to have a viewing, wake or funeral in your home. The following tasks are all part of a home funeral. You can involve a funeral home for assistance or carry out all of them yourself:

  • Wash and dress the body
  • Make the necessary arrangements to move the body
  • Arrange for a casket, shroud, or urn
  • Organize the details of the service
  • Arrange for burial or cremation
  • Complete the paperwork required by the vital statistics agency in your province or territory. This commonly includes the registration of death, medical certificate of death, and burial permit.

See also: Care of the Body after Death

Moving the Body

If the person dies in a hospital, hospice or long-term care facility, you will need to make arrangements to bring his or her body home. You may also be moving the body between home and a funeral home or crematorium prior to a home funeral, and/or from home to a cemetery for burial. You will need to arrange and pay for transportation of the body on a stretcher in a suitable vehicle. Check with the vital statistics agency in your province/territory (See list below) to find out if you need a permit for these moves. For a fee, you can arrange for transportation with a body transfer service or local funeral home.

If you plan to move the body from a bed into a casket, keep in mind that you may require six or more people to do so. Talk with your friends and family in advance to ensure that they are comfortable with moving or touching the body of someone who has died.

Caskets, Urns and Shrouds

In Canada, the law requires that a body be either buried in an approved cemetery or cremated. If cremation is chosen, the ashes may be retained or buried. If your family member has not expressed a preference, the traditions of your family and community and practical matters may help you decide. When arranging for burial of the body or ashes, check out costs, transportation, and any rules that may affect your plans. You will need a casket, container or shroud for burial or cremation. Check with your local funeral board (see below) about the regulations that apply in your area.

Caskets can be purchased from a funeral home, casket store or other commercial outlet. They vary widely in price depending on their materials and how ornate they are. Most funeral homes carry plywood caskets and cardboard containers.  These can be decorated by family members with art work or messages of remembrance, gratitude or blessing.

You can make a casket at home. If you need help, ask a family member or friend with carpentry skills. Be sure to size the casket to fit through doorways and around corners in the home. If cremation is to take place, you may also want to make or purchase an urn or box to receive the ashes after cremation. This also can be decorated by friends and family members.

Wrapping or sewing a body into a sheet-like garment called a shroud is one of the oldest ways of preparing a body for burial or cremation.  For more information on shrouds, see the Canadian Integrative Network for Death Education and Alternatives (CINDEA) website. If you use a shroud, you may not need a casket or other container.  A rented stretcher can be used to lay the body out for viewing at home and transporting the body to the cemetery or crematorium. If the body is to be buried, check whether the cemetery allows burial in shrouds.


Ceremonies: Viewings, Wakes, and Vigils

Every family will have a different idea about what a home funeral or ceremony should look like. There is no right or wrong way to do this. Following any known wishes of your loved one and your family is a good place to start. Including religious, cultural and family traditions is also important. If you want a funeral service for the larger community, you may need to consider a larger space in a worship centre, community hall or a funeral home.

Having your family member’s body at home before cremation and/or burial allows relatives and friends to mourn with you. You can remember the person together, share your grief, and support each other. A home viewing is an opportunity to find closure after a person dies and to honour him or her.

If your cultural practice or family tradition is to invite friends and family to sit with the body or ashes prior to the funeral, choose a space large enough for the coffin, shroud or urn and for people to come and say goodbye.  Have a few chairs available to allow visitors to spend time together and share stories and memories. If space is a concern, consider using a funeral home or community facility.

Some communities honour the deceased person with a wake. During a wake, relatives and friends may hold a vigil or keep watch over the body before burial. They may celebrate his or her life by sharing food and drink, memories, prayers, readings, blessings, farewells, singing, chanting, tributes, and/or toasts. This may be all the ceremony that is needed to honour the wishes of the deceased person and the needs of your family.

See also: Rituals to Comfort Families

Burial and Cremation

You will need to obtain a permit for burial or cremation from the vital statistics agency when you file the Medical Certificate of Death and Registration of Death Form.

For burial, provincial and municipal laws and regulations stipulate where and how a casket can be buried. Your local cemetery or funeral home will be able to assist with the information you need. Burial often cannot be undertaken by family alone. You may also need to arrange transportation of the casket to the cemetery.

Cremation is the burning of the body in intense heat until only ashes remain. This is done at a crematorium, which is a building designed for this purpose. Some crematoriums allow the family to gather by the cremation chamber to say their final farewells. Check with the crematorium you plan to use about:

  • the kind of container the body must be in for cremation
  • arrangements for close family members to be present at the time of cremation.

After cremation, you will be given the ashes in a small cardboard box or other container. If you wish, you can transfer these to an urn or other container.

Ashes may be buried in a cemetery or placed in a columbarium, a special room or building with niches designed for holding urns. Some funeral homes or faith groups have special gardens for burying ashes. If you wish to bury them in a place not designated for this purpose, make sure you have permission. 

Your family members may choose to divide the ashes, which would allow them to bury or scatter the ashes in different places. Dividing the ashes also gives family members the opportunity to create their own keepsakes. Some people place ashes in a locket or a picture frame with a picture of the deceased.

You may wish to scatter the ashes in some place that has special significance for you as a family or for the person who has died. Generally, there are no laws that prohibit the scattering of ashes. However, you may find these guidelines helpful:

  • Before scattering ashes in public places such as parks, check whether any municipal bylaws apply.
  • Get permission before scattering ashes on private property. This includes commercial private properties such as golf courses.

The final placement or scattering of ashes can be a meaningful ritual for your family and friends. You can reflect on what you have shared with the deceased person as you release him or her to the wider world. If appropriate, you can include prayers or readings expressing gratitude for life and trust in the Creator. 


Vital Statistics Agencies for each province/territory 

British Columbia
Alberta
Saskatchewan
Manitoba
Ontario
Quebec
New Brunswick
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island
Newfoundland
Northwest Territories
Yukon
Nunavut

Funeral Service Association of Canada 

Provincial Funeral Boards and Associations
British Columbia Funeral Service Association
Alberta Funeral Services Regulatory Board
Funeral and Cremation Services Council of Saskatchewan
Manitoba Funeral Service Association
Ontario Board of Funeral Services   
Corporation des thanatologues du Québec
New Brunswick Funeral Directors and Embalmers Association
Funeral Service Association of Nova Scotia
Embalmers and Funeral Directors Board of Newfoundland and Labrador      

Post-Death Care and Funeral Planning
Canadian Consumer Handbook
Canadian Integrative Network for Death Education and Alternatives (CINDEA)
Joan Halifax “Care of the Body After Death”

Content reviewed July 15, 2015

PDF Imprimer article EnvoyerEnvoyer
Comment organiser des funérailles à domicile

Par : Rév.Glen R. Horst

Des motifs culturels, traditionnels ou personnels pourraient vous inciter à vouloir exposer le corps, tenir une veillée funèbre ou organiser des funérailles à votre domicile. Les tâches qui suivent sont à accomplir lorsque l’on organise des funérailles à domicile. Vous pouvez demander l’assistance d’un salon funéraire ou les accomplir toutes par vous-même :

  • Laver et habiller le corps
  • Prendre les arrangements nécessaires pour le transport du corps
  • Obtenir un cercueil, un linceul ou une urne
  • Organiser le service funéraire
  • Prendre des dispositions pour l’inhumation ou l’incinération
  • Remplir les formalités requises par le bureau de l’état civil de votre province ou territoire. Il s'agit habituellement de la déclaration du décès, du certificat de décès et du permis d’inhumer.

Voir aussi : Les soins mortuaires

Transport du corps

Si la personne meurt à l’hôpital ou dans un établissement de soins de longue durée, vous devrez prendre des dispositions pour faire transporter son corps à la maison. Vous devrez peut-être aussi transporter le corps entre la maison et le salon funéraire ou le crématorium, ou encore de la maison au cimetière dans le cas d’un enterrement. Vous devrez prévoir et payer le transport du corps sur une civière dans un véhicule approprié. Renseignez-vous auprès du bureau de l’état civil de votre province ou territoire (voir liste plus bas) pour savoir si vous avez besoin d’un permis pour le transport du corps. Moyennant certains frais, vous pouvez confier le transport du corps à un service spécialisé ou à un salon funéraire.

Si vous comptez déplacer le corps d’un lit à un cercueil, sachez que vous devrez mobiliser six personnes ou plus pour cela. Parlez-en à vos proches et amis à l’avance pour vous assurer qu’ils sont à l’aise de déplacer ou de toucher le corps d’une personne décédée.

Cercueils, urnes et linceuls

Au Canada, la loi exige que le corps soit incinéré ou enterré dans un cimetière approuvé. Si vous choisissez l’incinération, vous avez le choix de conserver ou d’enterrer les cendres. Si la personne décédée n’a pas exprimé de préférence, vous pourriez décider en fonction des traditions de votre famille ou de votre communauté et de considérations pratiques. Au moment de planifier l'enterrement du corps ou des cendres, renseignez-vous sur les coûts, le transport et les règles applicables. Vous aurez besoin d’un cercueil, d’une boîte quelconque ou d’un linceul pour l’enterrement ou l’incinération. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre conseil de services funéraires pour connaître la réglementation applicable.

Vous pouvez acheter un cercueil chez une entreprise de services funéraires ou un magasin spécialisé. Le prix varie considérablement selon la construction et l’ornementation. La plupart des entreprises de services funéraires vendent des cercueils en contreplaqué ou en carton, que les membres de votre famille pourront orner de dessins, de messages de reconnaissance ou de prières.

Vous pouvez même fabriquer un cercueil à la maison. Si vous avez besoin d’aide, demandez à un proche ou à un ami qui sait travailler le bois. Pour les dimensions du cercueil, tenez compte des particularités de la maison (embrasures de porte, coins). Dans le cas d’une incinération, vous voudrez peut-être aussi acheter une urne ou un coffret pour recueillir les cendres après l’incinération. L’urne peut aussi être décorée par les amis et les membres de la famille.

L’une des plus anciennes façons de préparer un corps pour l’enterrement ou l’incinération et de l'envelopper dans une pièce de toile appelée linceul. Le site du CINDEA (Canadian Integrative Network for Death Education and Alternatives) vous renseignera davantage sur les linceuls (en anglais). Si vous optez pour un linceul, vous n’aurez peut-être pas besoin de cercueil. Vous pouvez louer une civière pour exposer le corps à la maison et pour le transporter au cimetière ou au crématorium. Dans le cas d’un enterrement, vérifiez auprès du cimetière si l’enterrement dans un linceul est permis.

Cérémonies : exposition du corps, veillées funèbres et vigiles

Chaque famille aura sa propre conception de la forme à donner à des funérailles ou à une cérémonie funèbre à domicile. Il n’y a pas de bonnes ou de mauvaises façons de faire. Veiller au respect des volontés connues de l’être cher et de la famille est un bon point de départ. Il est aussi important de tenir compte des traditions religieuses, culturelles et familiales. Pour des funérailles publiques, vous devrez probablement trouver un espace plus spacieux dans un lieu de culte, une salle communautaire ou un salon funéraire.

Garder le corps à la maison avant l’incinération ou l’enterrement offre à la parenté et aux amis la possibilité de venir se recueillir avec vous. Cela permet à tous de saluer la mémoire du disparu, d’exprimer leurs sympathies et de se soutenir les uns les autres. L’exposition du corps à la maison permet aussi de trouver l’apaisement après la mort de l’être cher et de lui rendre hommage.

Si vos pratiques culturelles ou vos traditions familiales dictent d’inviter les amis et les proches à s’asseoir auprès du corps ou des cendres avant les funérailles, choisissez un endroit suffisamment spacieux pour accueillir le cercueil, le linceul ou l’urne et les personnes qui viendront faire leurs adieux. Prévoyez quelques chaises pour que les visiteurs puissent passer du temps ensemble et se raconter des anecdotes et des souvenirs. Si l’espace est insuffisant, vous pouvez vous installer dans un salon funéraire ou une salle communautaire.

Dans certaines communautés, l’hommage rendu aux défunts prend la forme d’une veillée funèbre où proches et amis tiennent une vigile ou veillent le corps avant l’enterrement. Pour célébrer la vie du défunt, on partage un repas, on prend un verre, on se raconte des souvenirs, on prie, on lit des textes, on demande grâce, on fait des adieux, on chante, on rend hommage ou on porte des toasts. Parfois, c’est tout ce qu’il faut pour respecter les volontés de la personne décédée et les besoins de la famille.

Voir aussi : Rituels pour réconforter les familles

L’enterrement et l’incinération

Il faut obtenir un permis du bureau de l’état civil pour l’enterrement ou l’incinération au moment de soumettre l’acte de décès et le formulaire d’enregistrement de décès.

Dans le cas d’un enterrement, les lois et règlements provinciaux et municipaux stipulent où et comment enterrer un cercueil. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre cimetière ou salon funéraire. Il est rare qu’une famille puisse s’occuper seule d’un enterrement. Il faut aussi prévoir le transport du cercueil jusqu’au cimetière.

L’incinération consiste à réduire le corps en cendres sous l’effet d’une chaleur intense. L'opération se fait dans un bâtiment spécial appelé crématorium. Certains crématoriums permettent aux proches du défunt de se rassembler à proximité de la chambre d’incinération pour faire leurs derniers adieux. Renseignez-vous auprès du crématorium au sujet :

  • du genre de cercueil exigé pour l’incinération;
  • de la présence des proches au moment de l’incinération.

Après l’incinération, on vous remettra les cendres dans une petite boîte en carton ou dans un autre récipient. Si vous le désirez, vous pourrez les transférer dans l’urne ou le récipient que vous avez prévu à cette fin.

Les cendres peuvent être enterrées au cimetière ou placées dans un columbarium (salle ou petit bâtiment pourvu de niches où sont placées des urnes). Certains salons funéraires et groupes confessionnels ont des jardins destinés à l’inhumation des cendres. Si vous désirez enterrer les cendres dans un endroit non désigné à cette fin, assurez-vous d’obtenir une autorisation. 

Les membres de votre famille choisiront peut-être de diviser les cendres pour ainsi les enterrer ou les répandre à différents endroits. La division des cendres offre aussi aux membres de la famille la possibilité de créer leur propre souvenir. Certaines personnes choisissent de les conserver dans un médaillon ou un cadre avec une photo du disparu.

Vous voudrez peut-être disperser les cendres dans un endroit qui revêt un sens particulier pour votre famille ou pour le défunt. En règle générale, aucune loi n’interdit la dispersion des cendres, mais voici quelques conseils utiles :

  • Avant de disperser les cendres dans un parc ou un autre endroit public, vérifiez la réglementation municipale.
  • Obtenez la permission avant de disperser les cendres sur une propriété privée, par exemple sur un terrain de golf ou une autre propriété commerciale du genre.

Le placement ou la dispersion des cendres peut être un rituel significatif pour les proches et amis du défunt. C’est une occasion de réfléchir à ce que l’on a vécu avec la personne décédée avant de la laisser aller dans le grand univers. S’il y a lieu, vous pouvez prévoir des prières ou des lectures qui exprimeront de la gratitude envers la vie et de la confiance envers le Créateur.

Bureaux de l’état civil dans les provinces et les territoires
Colombie-Britannique
Alberta
Saskatchewan
Manitoba
Ontario
Québec
Nouveau-Brunswick
Nouvelle-Écosse
Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Terre-Neuve
Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Yukon
Nunavut

Funeral Service Association of Canada 

Associations et conseils provinciaux de services funéraires
British Columbia Funeral Service Association
Alberta Funeral Services Regulatory Board
Funeral and Incinération Services Council of Saskatchewan
Manitoba Funeral Service Association
Conseil des services funéraires de l’Ontario
Corporation des thanatologues du Québec
Association des Directeurs funéraires et Embaumeurs du Nouveau-Brunswick
Funeral Service Association of Nova Scotia
Embalmers and Funeral Directors Board of Newfoundland and Labrador

Soins mortuaires et organisation des funérailles
Guide du consommateur canadien
Canadian Integrative Network for Death Education and Alternatives (CINDEA)
Joan Halifax, « Care of the Body After Death »